Albondigas on a Rainy day

Albondigas are practically Mexican meatballs with egg in them. I love albondigas, I literally can eat them everyday whether it’s hot or cold. When I was about 7 years old, for the first time ever, my mom ask me to help her prepare the meat and ever since I always make the meatballs while she prepares the sauce. I was so excited because I had never made albondigas but I loved them.

Ingredients:

  • ground beef

  • 1 cup of bread crumbs (may need more)

  • garlic salt

  • egg (boiled and raw)

  • 6 tomatoes

  • salt (as desired)

  • 4-5 garlic cloves

  • 1/4 of onion

  • chile chipotle (as desired)

Instructions for albondigas:

  1. Collect all the ingredients, and begin to boil about 5-8 eggs ( I boiled some extra ones because I like putting a lot of egg in the meat)

  2. While the eggs are boiling, prepare the meat to make the albondigas: in a bowl put the ground beef, about 4 eggs,  a cup of bread crumbs, and a pinch of garlic salt then mix all together until they are mixed well (you may need to add more bread crumbs depending on the “stickiness” of the meat)

    This was me right after I had finished preparing the meat 🙂
  3. When the eggs are hard boiled remove them from the stove, let them cool and peel them clean. Then you will cut them into fourths.

  4. Make the meatballs (albondigas) into a round shape all about the same size

  5. Flatten the balls in order to put a fourth of an egg into the ball, then cover the egg with the meat.

  6. Repeat this step until you are finished with your meat.

Instructions for the sauce:

  1. Collect the tomatoes, onion, garlic, chile chipotle, and about 1 cup of water in the blender and blend until it is smooth.

  2. Once the sauce is smooth, pour into a saucepan on the stove

  3. Add some salt and about 1 cup of water into the sauce and mix

  4. Let the sauce boil evenly and it will turn a dark red color

  5. When the sauce is boiled evenly, add the albondigas into the sauce and let them sit until they turn brown.

  6. Now you are ready to serve up some albondigas! Enjoy!

I hope you enjoy this meal as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

